Ecuador Information

  • Ecuador is located on the equatorial line, in South America, its territory is in both hemispheres. It limits to the north with Colombia, to the south and east with Peru and to the west with the Pacific Ocean.

    Ecuador has a total area of ​​283 561 km². It is divided into four regions, with 24 provinces and 221 cantons.

    Ecuador is a world power on eco-sustainable energies, it is also the country with one of the highest concentrations of rivers per km2 in the world and one of the countries with the highest diversity per km2 therefore it has the highest biodiversity of the world.

  • The data generated by the INEC reports that the current population of Ecuador is 16,949,346 as of February 2015.
  • Spanish is the official language. Quichua, Shuar and other ancestral languages ​​are of official use for indigenous people in accordance with the Ecuadorian Constitution.


Ecuador has four natural regions:

Coast Region

Coast region, located between the Pacific Ocean and the Andes Mountains, has 5 provinces with a total population of 6,388,089 inhabitants divided into: urban, 4,562,364, and rural 1,825,725 inhabitants.

Sierra Region

Sierra region, is located at the Andes mountains, its consists of 12 provinces with a total population of 5,627,750 inhabitants, of which 3,357,293 are located in urban areas and 2,270,457 in rural areas.

Amazon Region

Amazon or Rainforest region has 6 provinces with total population of 613,339 inhabitants, 210,829 settled in urban areas and 402,510 in rural areas.


Galapagos Islands

The province of Galápagos, an archipelago of 13 islands and 17 islets located 1,000 kilometers west of the Ecuadorian mainland. Its has a total population of 16,917 inhabitants, 15,554 remain in urban areas and 1,903 in rural areas.